You don’t just Pass/Fail

This week has been an interesting one. We spent the day at an amusement park and ate the convenient foods around us. We didn’t die, but the interesting thing was everyone in the family at some point over the next couple days made a comment on how it didn’t sit well. Bloating, gas, or overall yucky feeling were felt by all. I myself was surprised at the extreme bloat my husband suffered, but I liked the reminder to keep on trying. Eating clean is what our bodies want.

This morning my son talked about his cooking class, he felt a little frustrated his teacher was passing a canned cookie, topped with cream cheese frosting, and strawberries, as “healthy.” MY SON, the one that wanted hot dogs and acted like it was the end of the world when we started. He said he couldn’t get himself to eat all that sugar and opted for the leftover fruit. WOW, I thought is this conversation really happening. I have tried not to villainize foods, except frankinfoods, because there is nothing worse then fearing every food. I still am trying to be ok  with the fact that peas are good for you, and not some starchy devil. I have tried to give my kids the choice to eat as they want when they are outside of the house. I want them to know they can make their own choices. I teach them why my choice is important to me. I ask them to critically think about what they are putting in their bodies. Some foods are advertised to us as good for you, and healthy but are not.  When my kids ask if they can eat something, I ask them to read the label, and then they can choose. It is often sad to see them put it back on the self, but they all seem to understand that if they don’t know what it is, they feel better not eating it. I admit, they have had things that are not a healthy choice, but this is a journey and right now its about moderation. I see more and more they aren’t wanting those things, and they don’t taste as good as they remembered.

20160229_175622
Homemade chow-main can’t be beat!

On past post our family often rates the meal. Sometimes I have the voices of various cooking shows in my head as I am about to present my meal to the judges. Sometimes my witty son will be those voices. It’s all in good fun for the most part, but last night I almost cried when my pretty pretty meal turned into a total disaster.

20160302_172330
Ravioli, not so much

In my hast to finish dinner I assumed the wonton ravioli wouldn’t stick together like its Italian counterpart, but I was so wrong. A moment of silence for what could have been a perfect dinner. I almost tossed it when I thought, “it doesn’t have to be pretty slap some sauce on this and feed your babies!”  It wasn’t really the best, but all were fed.

I try more and more to make extra big batches of rice, beans, or quinoa, so that I have left overs to use again in another meal. This is a huge time saver, but I also noticed it makes it easier to add nutrition in simple meals. Has anyone out there had Aussie bites from Costco? They are pretty tasty, they have cooked quinoa (the perfect time to cook a bigger batch) in them. I found a recipe online that someone has created that is pretty close to the real deal! Next time I make these I might make a super batch and freeze them. They are a great on the go snack!

 

20160302_103610
Aussie Bites

 

The more I do something the faster I get and the more experimental I get, this week every morning I throw a can of beans with a drizzle of olive oil, squeeze of half a lemon, and a couple of tablespoons of any seasoning I am in the mood for into the food processor, and there you go.. lunch! Slap this on a pita or any type of bread, top with veggies and it is quick and easy.  This morning I added red quinoa to boost protein and fiber, and I admit it is pretty awesome.20160303_061804

Quinoa is one of those seeds that has a very subtle taste. It is packed with protein, fiber and rich in minerals. Don’t be afraid to replace it with rice, or just add it to something to give your meal a boost!

20160303_110323
Quinoa with coconut milk and blueberries 

 

Onward and upward to a bigger better week… right?

Leave a Reply

